Library Services, Resources, and News: Fall 2024
I'm Randy Souther, the library's liaison for Kinesiology.
This page highlights recent news, as well as some of the library's services and resources available to support faculty teaching and research. It will be updated ahead of each semester, and periodically in-between.
News
August 2024
Cancellations and Withdrawals
The library has had to cut more than $50,000 from our materials budget this coming year, and larger cuts are likely next fiscal year. See our Cancellations and Withdrawals page for a partial list of cancelled databases and journals.
See Cancellations and Withdrawals
Important cancellations include:
- Link+ — book borrowing and lending service (books can still be borrowed via our Interlibrary Loan service).
- ProQuest Ebook Central — more than 250,000 academic ebook titles.
- Passport GMID — international consumer and industry market research.
- Credo InfoLit — information literacy tutorials and videos
New Information Desk in the Library
The library's Reference Desk has been closed, and reference services have been moved and combined with circulation services at the Information Desk at the entrance of the library. Reference librarians will be on-call — just ask at the Information Desk.
Selected New Books in Kinesiology
Book summaries composed with AI-assistance.
Teaching Physical Education to Children with Autism: Stories from the Field
“Teaching Physical Education to Children with Autism” is a practical guidebook for educators seeking to create inclusive and engaging physical education classes for students with autism and learning disabilities. The book offers tested methods, best practices, and real-life examples to help teachers support all students effectively. It addresses challenges such as difficult behavior and disengagement, providing flexible frameworks and ready-to-use activities. Through a narrative approach, the author shares first-hand experiences, offering valuable insights into teaching students with diverse learning needs. This comprehensive resource is essential for physical education and special education teachers aiming to create equitable learning environments.
The Price She Pays: Confronting the Hidden Mental Health Crisis in Women's Sports--From the Schoolyard to the Stadium
“The Price She Pays” explores the hidden mental health crisis in women’s sports. Authors Katie Steele and Dr. Tiffany Brown reveal the challenges female athletes face, including disordered eating, depression, abuse, and discrimination. The book examines the conflicting expectations placed on women in sports and highlights high-profile cases like Naomi Osaka and Simone Biles. Through research and personal accounts, the authors expose the systemic issues in women’s athletics and offer guidance for parents, coaches, and athletes. They emphasize the importance of prioritizing overall well-being and provide strategies for recognizing and addressing mental health concerns, aiming to create a more supportive environment for women in sports.
Developing the Core
“Developing the Core, Second Edition” is a comprehensive guide by the National Strength and Conditioning Association for enhancing core strength, crucial for athletic performance and injury prevention. It offers the latest research, testing procedures, and insights on neural control of core muscles. The book includes sport-specific training guidelines for 15 sports, detailed instructions for 74 exercises, and expert advice on program customization. This authoritative resource is essential for athletes, coaches, and strength and conditioning professionals seeking to maximize performance through core development.
Developing Power
“Developing Power, Second Edition,” by the National Strength and Conditioning Association, is the definitive guide for power training in athletics. It offers research-based recommendations for assessing and enhancing muscular power, covering protocols for jumps, throws, and ballistic exercises. The book includes power training guidelines for 19 sports, detailed instructions for 84 exercises, and guidance on exercise progressions. It features multiple training methods and sample programs for team and individual sports. With contributions from 17 experts, this comprehensive resource is essential for maximizing power development in athletes.
Biochemistry for Sport and Exercise Metabolism
“Biochemistry for Sport and Exercise Metabolism” is a comprehensive textbook exploring the biochemical processes underlying athletic performance. The second edition covers energy metabolism, muscle structure and function, macronutrient biochemistry, and metabolic regulation during various exercise types. It examines how exercise mode, intensity, duration, training status, and nutrition affect energy production pathways. New content includes adaptations to high-intensity, strength, endurance, and intermittent exercise, plus a chapter on biochemical techniques. The book features learning aids and discusses energy supply for muscle contraction, muscle contraction mechanisms, energy system regulation, and exercise metabolism techniques. It’s an essential resource for students in sport-related courses.
Roller Derby: The History of an American Sport
“Roller Derby: The History of an American Sport” by Michella M. Marino explores the evolution of roller derby since 1935. The book highlights the sport’s unique coed nature, which has both contributed to its popularity and hindered its mainstream acceptance. Marino examines roller derby’s impact on gender relations and politics, challenging traditional sports norms. She also analyzes how the sport’s management has addressed pregnancy and motherhood, both conforming to and defying social expectations. The comprehensive history draws on various sources, including oral histories and personal experiences, and concludes with an assessment of roller derby’s current state and future prospects.
Introduction to Adaptive Sport and Recreation
“Introduction to Adaptive Sport and Recreation” is a comprehensive textbook addressing the growing field of adaptive sports for people with disabilities. It covers social and theoretical aspects, including disability definitions, ableism, inclusion, and legal efforts. The book explores the Paralympic Games, other elite competitions, and media coverage of adaptive sports. It discusses the long-term athlete development model, opportunities for military personnel and youth, and financial considerations. The text includes a case study on the University of Alabama Adapted Athletics program and features critical thinking exercises throughout. This guide prepares future sport management professionals to integrate adaptive programs effectively.
Playgrounds: The Experimental Years
In the aftermath of World War II, a revolutionary playground concept emerged in Northern Europe and North America. Moving away from traditional equipment, these new spaces encouraged children to create their own play structures and activities. "Playgrounds" explores how abandoned areas and bomb sites were transformed into vibrant play spaces by children and forward-thinking educators. The book delves into the philosophy behind these innovative playgrounds, highlighting the belief in children's imagination and creativity. Author Ben Highmore chronicles the efforts of visionaries, designers, and charitable organizations in reshaping playground design, ultimately emphasizing the crucial importance of play in children's development.
Muscle Works: Physical Culture and the Performance of Masculinity
"Muscle Works" traces the evolution of men's fitness culture from 19th-century strongman exhibitions to modern health practices. Broderick D. V. Chow explores how these displays shape and challenge masculinity definitions. The book examines key figures like Eugen Sandow, George Hackenschmidt, and Bruce Lee, delving into the theatrical roots of fitness culture and its connections to fakery, philosophy, and racial dynamics. Chow argues for a more nuanced understanding of fitness culture, extending beyond the gym to explore how gendered subjects create and inhabit worlds through their bodies.
Participatory Research in Sport and Physical Activity
This book explores participatory research methods in sport and physical activity, highlighting their transformative potential. It guides readers through the research process, covering design, data collection, analysis, and knowledge mobilization. The text introduces innovative approaches like social photo-elicitation, go-along interviews, and collaborative analysis. Each chapter provides key developments, practical guidance, examples, and critical reflections on shaping future research and public discourse. The book serves as a valuable resource for students and researchers in sport studies, sociology of sport, psychology, management, and health, emphasizing diverse and inclusive qualitative methodologies.
Swimming Pretty: The Untold Story of Women in Water
"Swimming Pretty" by Vicki Valosik traces the evolution of synchronized swimming from Victorian theater to Olympic sport. The book highlights pioneering female swimmers like Esther Williams, Lurline the Water Queen, and Annette Kellerman, who challenged societal norms and influenced water safety and physical education. Valosik explores the tension between aesthetics and athleticism in aquatic performance, showcasing how these women not only entertained but also contributed to reducing drowning rates and paving the way for future generations of female swimmers. This meticulously researched history brings long-overdue recognition to an important American sport.
Positive Youth Development Through Sport
This book critically examines the role of sport in positive youth development (PYD), cutting through political rhetoric to offer evidence-based insights. Now in its third edition, it features contributions from diverse disciplines, exploring theoretical foundations, assessment methods, and practical applications of PYD through sport. The expanded content covers PYD in schools, Indigenous populations, and across the lifespan, along with new case studies and program evaluation techniques. It serves as an essential resource for students, researchers, educators, practitioners, and policymakers interested in youth sport's potential for personal and social development.
Mental Health and Well-being Interventions in Sport: Research, Theory and Practice
This updated second edition provides a comprehensive overview of mental health research, models, and approaches in sport, featuring insights from global experts. It offers evidence-based guidance on designing, implementing, and evaluating sport-based interventions for athletes, coaches, and officials. The book covers topics such as injury, depression, eating disorders, abuse, and burnout, presenting emerging research in accessible chapters. It also explores how sport can be used in extreme environments like prisons to improve mental health. Aimed at practitioners, researchers, and students, the book emphasizes the importance of supporting mental health and well-being in all sports settings and contexts.
Research Methods in Physical Activity
Research Methods in Physical Activity, Eighth Edition, is a comprehensive guide for kinesiology and exercise science students. This updated version features a full-color layout and covers the entire research process, from planning to publication. The book is divided into four parts, addressing research overview, statistical and measurement issues, various methodologies, and paper development. New contributors bring fresh perspectives from biomechanics and sport psychology. Enhancements include updated references, more accessible statistical techniques, and new sections on public health initiatives and philosophical research. The text employs learning aids, practical applications, and a running glossary to make complex concepts understandable, aiming to instill confidence in emerging researchers.
Sociocultural Issues in Sport and Physical Activity
"Sociocultural Issues in Sport and Physical Activity" explores the complex relationship between modern physical activities and society, extending beyond sports to include fitness, dance, and weightlifting. The book examines how political, educational, media, and economic institutions influence this relationship, and how race, gender, social class, and ability are interpreted socially. It addresses contemporary topics such as reducing disparities, the medicalization of fitness, and the globalization of the fitness industry. The text also discusses public health promotion and body positivity. With features like chapter objectives and discussion questions, it offers a comprehensive, cross-cultural perspective on society, health, and physical culture.
Sports in American History: From Colonization to Globalization
"Sports in American History: From Colonization to Globalization, Third Edition" offers a comprehensive exploration of sports as a social and cultural phenomenon in the United States. The book examines sports through various historical periods, highlighting the influence of women, minorities, and diverse groups on American sporting culture. It addresses contemporary issues like the Covid-19 pandemic, social justice movements, and technological advancements in sports. The text includes primary documents, timelines, and full-length articles from Sport History Review, providing students with a well-rounded perspective on the evolution of American sports and their intersection with society.
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Eighth Edition, is a comprehensive textbook by Robert Weinberg and Daniel Gould that explores the field of sport and exercise psychology. This updated edition incorporates the latest research and practices, addressing emerging trends such as mental health in athletes, COVID-19 effects, mindfulness, and Olympic Games issues. The book covers personal and situational factors affecting performance, group dynamics, and psychological techniques for improved effectiveness. It also examines psychological aspects of health, exercise, and children's sport participation. The text includes interactive online activities and multimedia content through HKPropel, providing students with a thorough understanding of the field and its applications.
Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance
"Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance, Sixth Edition" is a comprehensive guide for students in kinesiology, sport science, and related fields. It covers data collection, analysis, and practical application in human performance assessment. The book combines introductory algebraic concepts with Microsoft Excel and IBM SPSS software for calculations and data analysis. Focusing on reliability and validity, it provides tools for evidence-based decision-making. The sixth edition, reorganized for logical progression, includes new content on physical activity assessment, sport video analysis apps, and employment-related testing. It is divided into four parts covering measurement concepts, statistics, reliability and validity, and practical applications. HKPropel access provides online learning aids, sample data sets, and interactive activities.
Sport Injury Prevention Anatomy
"Sport Injury Prevention Anatomy" is a comprehensive guide to preventing common sports injuries. The book uses detailed medical illustrations and current research to explain injury mechanisms and prevention strategies. It covers injuries from head to foot, focusing on high-risk areas like the ACL, shoulder, and hamstrings. The text emphasizes resistance training as a key prevention method, offering programming templates and advice on integrating exercises into existing routines. It also highlights the importance of proper warm-ups and provides guidance on designing personalized injury prevention programs. The book is an invaluable resource for athletes and trainers seeking to maintain peak physical condition and avoid injury-related setbacks.
Clinical Exercise Physiology: Exercise Management for Chronic Diseases and Special Populations
Clinical Exercise Physiology, Fifth Edition With HKPropel Access, is a comprehensive guide to the clinical aspects of exercise physiology. It covers 24 chronic diseases and conditions across various populations, making it an essential resource for students preparing for clinical exercise certifications. The book features updated content, a full-color layout, new sidebars, and a chapter on clinical exercise programming. It includes online tools through HKPropel, such as case studies, discussion questions, and quizzes. Endorsed by multiple international organizations, this edition offers an in-depth review of diseases and conditions encountered in clinical exercise physiology, benefiting both new and experienced professionals in the field.
Selected Services and Resources
Reminders of key resources ahead of each semester—see more in Faculty Resources:
Class Instruction
I will meet with you and your class to provide an overview of library resources and research strategies tailored to specific assignments. (Please request at least two weeks in advance.)
Appointments
If you are new faculty and would like a personal overview of what the library offers—or if you've been around a while and would like a refresher—please schedule a time to meet.
Course Reserves
The library can place both physical and online materials on reserve for your classes. We encourage you to make arrangements prior to the start of each semester or as soon as possible, and email gleesonreserves@usfca.edu with any questions.
Research Guides
We curate research guides for a variety of disciplines, topics, and classes. Please consider including a link to the Kinesiology guide on your course canvas pages for your students.
Book Orders
If you would like us to purchase specific books for the library, please contact me via email with the information: randall.souther@usfca.edu. We're happy to partner with you to build a rich and useful collection.
Streaming Videos for Classroom Use
If you’re planning on using streaming videos from the library, we encourage you to make arrangements prior to the start of each semester:
Even if you’ve made arrangements for a specific title in the past, please confirm that the license will be active during the semester. Many of our streaming videos are licensed for only a year at a time, and we want to make sure you and your students have access when you need it. License expiration dates, when applicable, are indicated in the “Access Restrictions” note in the catalog record for the video.
You can search our streaming video collection in the library’s catalog. For additional information, please see our Video and Streaming Media for Faculty guide, or contact me for help.