Magazine and Journal Article Databases
- American Energy Society
Registration Required. See "more" below for more information. The American Energy Society is the largest association for energy professionals. Providing non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities, AES is a trusted voice with a mission to solve the world's greatest energy and environmental challenges. - Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. - Compendex
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. - Engineering Source
Engineering Source is a database for professionals and researchers across all engineering disciplines, including biomedical, civil, electrical, mechanical, environmental and software. It includes hundreds of full-text engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, plus books, conference papers and more. - Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. - Inspec
Inspec (1898-present) is the leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. - ASCE Library
The ASCE Library is the world’s largest full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications, offering online access to more than 145,000 technical and professional papers. Gleeson Library provides access to the Journals and Proceedings only. - GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. - EconLit
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature with citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1886. - ProQuest One Business
A comprehensive business database containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Includes the full text of the Wall Street Journal. Formerly called ABI/INFORM Collection - Business Source Complete
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. - SciFinder-n
Registration Required — see: "More" below. Citations and abstracts for journal articles from more than 10,000 journals covering the biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more; patents; substance and chemical synthesis information; includes CAS Registry database, Analytical Methods, Formulus, and ChemZent.
- Osti.govOSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for the Department of Energy (DOE) science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). OSTI collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide.
- Annual Reviews
Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research. Each article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- IEEE Open Access Journal of Power and EnergyIEEE Open Access Journal of Power and Energy is intended to be a technical journal containing articles focusing on the development, planning, design, construction, maintenance, installation, and operation of equipment, structures, and power systems for the safe, sustainable, economic, and reliable conversion, generation, transmission, distribution, storage, and usage of electric energy, including its measurement and control.
This journal is 100% open access.
Regional and Indigenous Scholarship Databases
The following databases and journals promote research from communities of scholars around the world. The goal of these databases is to ensure that the research produced in these regions and countries can be readily found and shared. Some of these databases were developed in conjunction with The Journals Online Project.
Latin America and the Caribbean
- SciELO
"SciELO" stands for Scientific Electronic Library Online. This open access database provides access to fulltext articles from over 1,200 Latin American journals on a wide range of subjects (not just science!). Most of the articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, although there is also some English language content.
- Central American Journals OnLine (CAMJOL)Central American Journals OnLine (CAMJOL) is a service to provide access to Central American published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- RedalycThe Redalyc project is a bibliographic database and a digital library of Open Access journals. Redalyc was conceived in the South and for the South, but is open now to all journals from around the globe that work for an inclusive, equitable and sustainable scholarly research communication ecosystem.
Africa
- African Digital Research Repositoriesis a list of repositories within the African continent, compiled by the International African Institute to promote the dissemination of knowledge from and on Africa.
- African Journals OnLine (AJOL)African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research.
- SciELO South AfricaThe Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) SA is South Africa’s premier open-access (free to access and free to publish) searchable full-text journal database in service of the South African research community. The database covers a selected collection of peer-reviewed South African scholarly journals and forms an integral part of the SciELO Network project. SciELO SA is managed by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), funded by the South African Department of Science and Technology (DSI) and endorsed by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET).
- Kenya National Research RepositoryProvides access to research supported by the Kenyan National Research Fund.
Asia
- Bangladesh Journals Online (BanglaJOL)BanglaJOL is a database of journals published in Bangladesh, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of BanglaJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals, and to the research they convey.
- Mongolia Journals Online (MongoliaJOL)Mongolia Journals OnLine (MongoliaJOL) is a service to provide access to Mongolian published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Nepal Journals Online (NepJOL)Nepal Journals OnLine (NepJOL) is a service to provide access to Nepalese published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Sri Lanka Journals Online (SLJOL)SLJOL is a database of journals published in Sri Lanka, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of SLJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals, and to the research they convey.
- Vietnam Journals OnLine (VJOL)Vietnam Journals OnLine (VJOL) is a service to provide access to Vietnamese published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
Europe
- The Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)CEEOL rovides access to scholarly Journals, eBooks and Grey Literature documents in Humanities and Social Science s from and about Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe. Gleeson Library does not have a subscription, but individuals can create an account to download open access content. To create your individual CEEOL user account, complete and submit the registration.
Indigenous Scholarhsip
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesAlterNative is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal that aims to present scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. AlterNative is a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary journal that publishes scholarship across the Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Health, Business, and Law.
- Journal of Indigenous ResearchThis Journal was created in response to community requests for information about research that has been conducted among their people. The focus of this publication is to obtain articles about research conducted with Native American, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian, Maori populations- written for laypeople. These articles will be published in the Journal of Indigenous Research and will also be sent to local Native newspapers and websites.